Testimonials

5.0 out of 5 stars: Very Impressive..., January 18, 2013

By Daniel A. Garrett "Mr. Wizard" (Salem, Oregon) -
Amazon Verified Purchase
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I just got my Oontz speaker from Cambrigde Soundworks today. I have to say this L'il mighty mite BLOWS ME AWAY !! It really POUNDS. I very recently purchased The Pill by Dr. Dre :( This puppy puts The PIll to shame. Too bad I didn't listen to The Oontz prior to my Pill purchase. It would have saved me some $200.00.
I think the small drivers in The Oontz have to be some long throw mini subs because they pound and really put out some wicked bad tunes. It's a "must have" in the home of any self respecting audio phyle. Such Gr8 sound from such a small speaker. It totally ROCKS !! I love it. My roomie agrees with me this L'il speaker is totally outrageous and very HAWT.... Buy one you don't know what you're missing. Thank you Cambridge !!


5.0 out of 5 stars: Sounds great jury out on the rest January 4, 2013

By Cjkoelemeyer
Amazon Verified Purchase
The sound is wonderful. Clear powerful nice all the way around. Btw for the size it does sound great. It's not a full sized bookshelf speaker so don't expect that but for being able to travel and add a great sounding stereo speaker for my iPhone or iPad bam this rocks. The down side I don't know if its charging and can't get it to charge and play at the same time. I don't understand the blinking lights. The only light combo I get is the sync blinks. Also having charge and play back issues it sounds like the music is skipping. Also reconnecting is having issues. It could be nothing just learning curve or could be problems. I will update as I learn. But the sound is worth this learning curve because it does sound truly magical. It's also the right size for my Timbuktu iPad messenger bag that was a major selling point and one of the main reasons for going with this item.
Update. It's now five starts all the negative I had are gone I understand everything but the charging lights. Very easy to use and the sound is to die for. I live this little high tech wonder.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Fantastic product! January 21, 2013

By Rickster
Amazon Verified Purchase
Great sound, great portability, and doubles as a speaker phone with no complicated button pressing. This is a very nice device and beats a lot of other wireless speakers out there!

4.0 out of 5 stars: Small speaker delivers great sound., January 13, 2013 By  John De La Torre - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I was looking for a small speaker that would improve on the built-in speaker that was on my laptop that would also be portable. The Oontz speaker does what I wanted, The speaker fits in your hand and delivers stereo sound at a level that I can appreciate and the sound can fill the room.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Awesome Product, January 7, 2013

By Dave Jasinski - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
Easy to set-up, great sound for the size, long battery life, great price...what more could you ask for! Kudos to the guys at Cambridge for coming out with a great product.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great Sound - Great Price - Small Package, January 3, 2013

By Tim Marthaler - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
Used it with my Ipad to fill the room with Christmas music this past season. Couldn't believe a speaker this size could produce this sound with such good bass.
4.0 out of 5 stars: Awesome, December 31, 2012 By  Steve Jorgenson - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
Great sound with very good volume. Pairs perfectly and range is very good. It would be perfect if the charging process was a bit more sophisticated. The 20 and 30 somethings that received them as presents were amazed.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Small and grate sound, December 30, 2012

By  Douglas Logie - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
It could be louder but for it's size works very well. And usefull to have. Works well with any Bluetooth device.


5.0 out of 5 stars: A must buy!!!, December 20, 2012

By  Michael Ferguson "JmF" (Tampabay, Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Angle with Silver Grille (Electronics)
Looking for a Good personal speaker for a Cellphone or Tablet? Get this... It's amazing for listening to Pandora or podcast indoors or on the patio. For only $69 its Distortion Free at 100 percent Volume. Love it and you will too.

*** UPDATE *** 12/27/12
I just used this over the Holidays outdoors at parties... everyone was amazed
at how nice the sound is from this small speaker. Really love this thing!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Oontz, the truth November 22, 2012

By Duncan J. Maclean
I read a lot of reviews on this little unit, and decided to make a $70 investment. For its size and build quality, it is great.

In one store I listened to the Jawbone, it is nice, however I do not think it is any better than this. The Bose is way ahead though, however you can get four of these and have some change.

Some say it drops the signal, well it will. The receiver for BT is typically only good for around 30ft with a direct line of sight. Mine works well in the yard, however if my phone is in my pocket and I turn, sometimes it will drop off, however it does reconnect immediately.

Comparing this little unit to a Bose is ridiculous. You cannot compare a $300 unit to this. My neighbor has the new Bose and it is amazing in my opinion, the bass is very rich and clear. I travel a lot and could see the Bose taking a beating, and I would rather abuse the Oontz and take a chance on breaking it instead.

The speaker will dance around if the surface is very smooth, however if you sit it on its little cloth bag, it won't budge.

This little unit paired up very quickly to my Motorola Photon and you have to power it up by activating the phone's bluetooth first, then powering up the speaker. The Chinese written instructions did not cover this too well.

I've been using mine for a month now, and I have to say I love it. Yes the blue LED is very bright, some complain about this, however we've just completed a road trip and it comes in handy when putting two small kids to bed in a hotel room, it is a useful night light.

If you want absolute sound quality, get the Bose, if you want something that can be tossed into a suitcase, I would only consider the Oontz.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Fantastic Sound in a stylish, portable package!, December 26, 2012

By  Wonder Woman (CA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
As expected, Cambridge SoundWorks ALWAYS delivers. The sound quality is amazing for such a small item and the portability makes it the perfect complement for lovers of music-on-the-go. I love the added bonus of the speakerphone for any incoming phone calls. I love it so much I bought 4 for gifts!


5.0 out of 5 stars: BIG BIG BEATS in a little speaker!!, December 26, 2012

By  PGAPRO68
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I am a golf professional and bought a couple of these, 1 as a gift for a student, and 1 for me. At our club, we are all addicted to good music and cannot play a round of golf without it ( it makes a long round of golf that much better). I had a chance to use it on Monday, and in a word it is AWESOME. I was truly blown away by not only how loud it is, but the quality of the speaker. I also had a jambox (that I lost last year) and it doesn't compare - not as loud and I had a big issue with the battery life. The Oontz also has little rubber feet that allowed it to sit just below the window on the cart and it didn't move. I don't really write many reviews, unless its an item that is worthy, but this one is worthy, trust me you will not be disappointed. And oh yea, it's only $70.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Love it., December 25, 2012

By  Loontunes - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I love this speaker system for my I pad. The sound is incredible from such a small and light box.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Oontz hard to beat,, December 16, 2012

By  David Michael - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I will wager you can not beat this speaker for 70 dollars. Balanced and clear without eq. Add the eq for more volume. I have also found the volume may vary depending on the device you are streaming from. Buy 3 for gifts.


5.0 out of 5 stars: The Best Sounding Ultra Portable Speakers under $150, November 30, 2012

By  Tien N. Vu - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
First of all, I am no audiophile, however I must mention how much I care about TRUE sound quality and the products that I currently own or have owned. I listen to music almost every single day on my laptop thus I have a 2.0 audio system (I don't like 2.1 because of the extra space a subwoofer requires) -- M-Audio AV 40 (easily the best 2.0 PC speakers under $200 and I got them for $95.00 3 years ago =P.) I also gave my dad a pair of Cambridge Soundworks M50 (ridiculously amazing bookshelf speakers). I also own Sennheiser headphones (PX-200, PX-200 II) and have owned Sennheiser PMX60 and Grado Labs SR 80i. For my MP3 Players I own Cowon Audio D2 & Cowon F2 (both are discontinued products as I have owned them for over 5 years now)-- I can tell you that Cowon Global makes the Best Sounding MP3 players in our current market. So my knowledge of distinguishing between Excellent / Good / Okay (Apple products) sound is quite decent. One thing to note: I only test my products through the AUX port as I do not have a bluetooth device.

Now regarding the Cambridge Soundworks Oontz--one word: the best sound quality you will ever find for any Ultra-Portable speakers for under $150. Why you ask? Well I basically did a research ultra-portable speakers under $150 (my price limit) and made a most wanted list: Monster ClarityHD Precision 100, Beacon Audio Phoenix, and Cambridge Soundworks Oontz. I even went to Best Buy and try out as many portable speakers and I can tell you straight out that the first portable speaker I tried was the Jambox (because it was soooooo hyped on the internet). All I can tell you is that my first impression on it was...wow this thing is small and looks pretty nice...BUT...once I plugged in my Cowon MP3 players...I was very disappointed...the JamBox sounded awful: muddled, distortion, barely any clarity, kept moving/shaking at loud volume--could not justify the $130-$150 price tag.

I also tried the Beacon Audio Phoenix -- this thing is definitely better than the JamBox; far better clarity and precision and clean bass (to a point). Also cheaper as well (sells for $75-$100 on Amazon). Then I moved on to a bigger MONSTER in Monster ClarityHD Precision 100. The ClarityHD OWNS the Beacon Audio Phoenix HANDS DOWN--granted it was released in 2010, this thing simply beats the Phoenix in terms of sound quality. It was so good that I had to buy it from Best Buy (for ~$69 total) Then when I bought the Oontz from Cambridge and did a direct comparison with the Monster ClarityHD...the difference was clear. The Oontz is more warm and more pleasant to listen to. I tried all types of music: Trance/Techno, R&B, Alternative Rock, etc. etc. and the Oontz definitely provide a better audio experience than the ClarityHD. I also tried the Soundfreaq Sound Kick (this is a portable speaker--not ultra portable like the Oontz, ClarityHD, and Phoenix). The Soundfreaq is definitely good, no doubt, due to its much larger size but to be honest the Oontz still sounded better than the Soundfreaq Sound Kick. I cannot talk much about the Soundfreaq Sound Kick since it is MUCH larger than the Oontz, ClarityHD, and Phoenix so the Sound Kick cannot be placed in the Ultra-Portable Speaker Category.

Conclusion: Here is my ranking of the top 3 Ultra-Portable Speakers under $150 that I have tested (through the AUX port--not bluetooth) and currently own.

1) Cambridge Soundworks Oontz
Easily the best, hands down -- Superb Clarity and Warmth, Excellent Bass
A true established speakers company over 20 years in business. Affiliated with Creative Labs.
Excellent build quality (best of the 3 IMO)
Up to 10 hours of battery life
Looks like an actual speaker, except ultra-portable (although still bigger than ClarityHD & Phoenix)
Very Cheap--Under $80 after shipping

2) Monster ClarityHD Precision 100
Excellent Clarity & Bass
A bit louder than the Oontz
A true audio necessity company--nuff said
Very good build quality
Very attractive design (smaller than the Oontz)
Very Cheap--Under $70

3) Beacon Audio Phoenix
Good Clarity, Good Bass, but distorts at high volume
Sound quality is no where near in comparison between Oontz and ClarityHD
Very good build quality -- has 3 colors to choose from
Stylish design, although at the cost of sound quality
Smallest size of the 3 (cubical shape)
Cheap: $75-$100 on Amazon (Beacon seems to randomly lower their prices)

**I would say the Soundfreaq Sound Kick sounds better than the ClarityHD (but Oontz still sounds better than Soundfreaq) since it is more warm and spreads out sound in a wider angle(due to its massive size) but the ClarityHD sounds more clear so this is just a personal preference. Again the Soundfreaq Sound Kick is not Ultra-Portable so should not be a direct comparison between Ultra-Portable Speakers.

Note: I did not get the chance to test the Braven 600 so I cannot say anything about it but I seriously doubt it will sound better than the Oontz, but who knows. Besides the Braven 600 costs $150 which is roughly twice the price of the Oontz so it's your call.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Oontz Wireless Speaker, November 23, 2012

By  Baylee (CA) - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
WOW! Who would have ever thought something so small could produce such BIG sound! Great product with a really long range too.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Oontz, the truth, November 22, 2012

By  Duncan J. Maclean - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I read a lot of reviews on this little unit, and decided to make a $70 investment. For its size and build quality, it is great.

In one store I listened to the Jawbone, it is nice, however I do not think it is any better than this. The Bose is way ahead though, however you can get four of these and have some change.

Some say it drops the signal, well it will. The receiver for BT is typically only good for around 30ft with a direct line of sight. Mine works well in the yard, however if my phone is in my pocket and I turn, sometimes it will drop off, however it does reconnect immediately.

Comparing this little unit to a Bose is ridiculous. You cannot compare a $300 unit to this. My neighbor has the new Bose and it is amazing in my opinion, the bass is very rich and clear. I travel a lot and could see the Bose taking a beating, and I would rather abuse the Oontz and take a chance on breaking it instead.

The speaker will dance around if the surface is very smooth, however if you sit it on its little cloth bag, it won't budge.

This little unit paired up very quickly to my Motorola Photon and you have to power it up by activating the phone's bluetooth first, then powering up the speaker. The Chinese written instructions did not cover this too well.

I've been using mine for a month now, and I have to say I love it. Yes the blue LED is very bright, some complain about this, however we've just completed a road trip and it comes in handy when putting two small kids to bed in a hotel room, it is a useful night light.

If you want absolute sound quality, get the Bose, if you want something that can be tossed into a suitcase, I would only consider the Oontz.
5.0 out of 5 stars: Oontz bluetooth speaker, November 10, 2012 By  rip
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
This is a great little portable speaker that has impressive sound for its size. However you can not compare it with the Bose.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great Product, November 5, 2012

By  North Star - See all my reviews
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
This speaker has met all of my expectations, and I love using it. We use it in the football tailgate lot, and while the speaker is small, it provides plenty of oomph to be heard and enjoyed. It's also been nice to have for doing work outside or while doing things around the house. A great product!


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great little speaker October 22, 2012

By A. Michelson
Given the limit on how good a small speaker can be, this one is excellent. Compared it to the Jawbone which is more than 2ce the price, the Oontz sounded fuller/richer. I listen to classical and am a musician, so I'm pretty critical. Of course, you can't compare any tiny speaker to a full sized system, but this speaker does a great little job.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Arrived just in time., December 28, 2012

By  Sheila
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
This product arrived on Christma Eve just in time to wrap it and give it to my fiance. He loved it.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Christmas, December 19, 2012

By  Deb
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
My husband and I have a blue tooth speaker e use all the time, we purchased this for our son. Good sound and compact.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great little speaker, November 28, 2012

By  JDS
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
More than expected. Good looks and more importantly- great volume for a little speaker and with good clarity. Great value for the $$


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great Buy!, November 13, 2012

By  FFDan
Amazon Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
Loved it them minute I took it out of the package. Great sound. Great price (opened a Amazon Visa card, so it was only $28 total). Portable. Charge lasts a long time. Use it alot. Thanks CSW!


5.0 out of 5 stars: 5 Reasons to Love the Oontz Angle, October 29, 2012

By  Daylight "Daylight" (Walnut Creek, California USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
I purchased the Oontz Angle about a month ago. The Oontz sounds great for it's size, and will make your life easier. Below are 5 reasons to purchase this product.

1) The Angle is portable, light weight, and easy to use.

2) The Angle has many uses. I use it for my Mp3, Laptop, and Iphone. It works with a chord if you don't have Bluetooth, and with Bluetooth. One great use is to place the Angle on your dash board and hook up your Mp3 player, for an instant car stereo. It's nice to liberate yourself from AM Radio with those endless mattress advertisements. The Angle sits solidly on the dash and it's easy to hide in the glove compartment.

3) I demonstrated the Angle with friends. It worked on every phone with Bluetooth. It's a no brianer to use.

4) Works great at barbecues and back yard parties. I used it at a College lacrosse game. The College students loved the product. Find someone with an I phone/Mp3 and you have music, anywhere, anytime.

5) I like technology that simplifies my life. No tangled chords, no stress. No need to build speakers into your walls. I place the Oontz Angle in various areas about the house as needed.

The Oontz does the job.


5.0 out of 5 stars: Great little speaker, October 22, 2012

By  A. Michelson (Los Altos, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The OontZ Angle Ultra-Portable Wireless Bluetooth Speaker by Cambridge SoundWorks (Electronics)
Given the limit on how good a small speaker can be, this one is excellent. Compared it to the Jawbone which is more than 2ce the price, the Oontz sounded fuller/richer. I listen to classical and am a musician, so I'm pretty critical. Of course, you can't compare any tiny speaker to a full sized system, but this speaker does a great little job.


Review of the Oontz!

I ordered a Cambridge Soundworks Oontz bluetooth speaker recently. I listen to Pandora a lot via my phone and figured this would be a good complement to that so I could listen without needing headphones as well as better quality than the built-in Droid X2 speaker.

They advertise this speaker as having great bass and high volume- especially when considering how small it is.  You know how marketing pieces go- you have to take them with a grain of salt.

Well, they are right.  This is a very small speaker (roughly 5 1/2" wide, 3" deep, and 3" high).  I pulled it out of the box and noticed basic instructions for how to pair it with your bluetooth device were printed right on the bottom of the speaker (excellent idea).  Very simple- just turn it on and press the "source" button until you hear a beep.  Then start the bluetooth connection process on your phone and have it scan for new devices.  It will find the Oontz and just let it connect.  On mine I didn't need to enter a code- but some phones, apparently, do need you to enter the standard 0000 passcode.
Once the phone was paired I fired up Pandora.  Wow!  The sound quality and volume is very impressive.  Now, I will say right up front this is not going to give you the same sound output as a larger speaker like you might find on your home stereo- nor should you expect that (afterall, this thing is TINY in comparison to a speaker like that).  But, when considering the size, it is quite incredible.  Easily plenty of volume to fill my home office with great sounding audio.  It  does have bass- although not window shattering bass.  But enough bass to give you a good full sound.  And it is a full sound- not 'tinny' like you get with most small speakers like this.  It has a very good balance of lows, mids, and highs.  

It also has some very nice features besides just great sound quality.  It's also a speaker phone.  It has a built in microphone on the top of the speaker.  If you get (or place) a call while listening to audio it will pause the audio and the call will be placed via bluetooth handsfree.  It works MUCH better than the built-in phone speaker and microphone.  In fact, I'd say this would be a great device to use for situations where you want your cell phone to act more as a conference phone.  The volume is plenty loud enough for everyone in the room to hear the call and the microphone is more sensitive than your phone's mic.

On one side of the Oontz is a control panel. This control panel has buttons for volume up and down, a multi-function button for answering calls, play, and pause, and buttons for previous and next tracks.  If you are listening to Pandora the 'next track' button acts as the skip button in Pandora.  If you are listening to MP3's then you can use those buttons to move through your music (although only the basic commands of track up or down).  

Included in the box is a nice felt carrying bag, a USB charging cable (you can only charge it via a USB cable- but it is a standard mini-USB connection), and a 3.5mm audio cable if you just want to connect a non-bluetooth device to it (which is a nice feature if you have a basic MP3 player).  

I haven't played it long enough to tell (nor have I even attempted to charge it yet- still running off the out-of-box charge) but they claim you can get 10 hours of non-stop listening at 3/4 volume.  That's impressive.

All in all I'm very happy and impressed.  Even more so when you consider that this device only costs $70 from the Cambridge Soundworks website.  Any other devices that come close to the size, sound quality, and features of this device would be double or even triple the cost. 
Yes, you can easily find less costly bluetooth speakers but I haven't seen any that have the features the Oontz does- such as acting as a speakerphone and having the built-in controls.  I'd also be doubtful they'd come close to the sound quality (although I will honestly admit I haven't tried any of the others so I can't compare).  

-- Parrish

Click here for the original post on Pandora



My review of the OontZ Angle Bluetooth speakers from Cambridge SoundWorks

I've noted in the past how much I care about quality audio -- not just accompanying video but on a standalone basis as well.  One of the big problems with small electronic devices is that physics tends to get in the way of great audio in various ways -- there's only so much you can expect from the tiny speaker on a smartphone, for example.

The Nexus 7 has a pair of considerable larger speakers toward its lower end (apparently in a mono, not stereo configuration) that can generate considerable volume with relatively good quality.

But let's face it, they're still pretty small.  

You can always wear headphones, or walk around with earbuds wedged in place, but really I often prefer speakers that can generate some significant volume and quality.

So I was intrigued when Cambridge SoundWorks sent me one of their newOontZ Angle Bluetooth (BT) speakers to play with (http://www.theoontz.com/oontzangle.php - price on the site $69.99).

I've seen BT speakers before, but they always seemed either too weak in volume, unwieldy, expensive, or ... well, disappointing, anyway.

In contrast, OontZ Angle is quite cool.

Though its pair of speakers are quite close together in a single unit -- so stereo separation isn't great -- it is a stereo device.

Within the bounds of BT's capabilities, OontZ sounds really good.  It can do loudtoo, without significant distortion.

Pairing/connecting via BT with my Nexus 7 was a snap.  The unit also comes with a standard stereo cable for connecting the speakers to devices that don't support BT.  

OontZ has a typical internal (permanent) li-ion battery, that you charge via USB from an included cable.  So when the battery eventually dies, unless you go digging inside and can find a replacement, you'll probably need to move on.

I don't really have a good handle on the run time between charges though, because it just kept running and running and running.  Since there's no obvious indication of low battery state, I kept expecting it to shut down -- but it never did.  And it seemed to charge back up to max very rapidly.

The manufacturer claims an official spec of about 10 hours continuous run time on a charge, at 75% volume.  Unofficially, rumor is it may approach twice as long at somewhat lower volume levels.  While there's no visible indication of a power down mode (the blue light stays lit as long as main power is on) I'm told that the unit does pull far less power when not actively playing audio, and may last approaching a week in that state while powered on.  Of course, your mileage may vary.

You'll notice from one of my photos that the controls near the top of the unit appear to be labeled upside-down.  I got a chuckle out of this -- the reason is that this orientation is correct if you're looking at the controls from over the top of the unit.  Someone gave this some thought.

Speaking of controls -- I didn't mention yet that the unit also functions as a BT speakerphone (there's an integral mike).  Answer calls, ignore, hang up -- all the usual functions.

As noted above, I tested the OontZ Angle on the Nexus 7 -- and BT performance was excellent.  I also tested with a Galaxy Nexus (also running Android 4.1.1 Jelly Bean) and a T-Mobile G2 (HTC Vision) running ICS (CyanogenMod 9).

Re-pairing the OontZ BT to the different devices sometimes took a couple of extra steps to drop the original pairing and connect to the next device (e.g., having to disable and re-enable the media/phone BT connect status on the phones), but still was straightforward. 

The OontZ sounded exactly the same (that is, really good) with all three devices, and on the two phones the OontZ speakerphone functions also worked fine.

Really the only downside I noticed was that especially at higher volume levels, there can be a notable audible "pop" when BT initially starts playing audio, through the OontZ, especially after a mode switch.  I've heard this with other BT devices too, and at less than the highest volume levels it's not even particularly noticeable.

That's pretty much the story.  The unit sounds great relative to its size, does what it's supposed to do, and appears to have rather insanely long battery life.  If you've been considering Bluetooth speakers, you might want to give the OontZ Angle a serious look.

-- Lauren Weinstein

Click here for the original post on Google+


 

Love it!

Just got mine today and i love it. I can't believe the sound that comes out of such a small unit. I'd recommend the Oontz to anyone. You can take this thing anywhere, and you really can't beat the price!

-- Consumedart



Perfect for college

I heard about the OONTZ through friends and got one for my daughter who left for college last week.
She called me last night to tell me the how very very cool it is to have this new product and how great it is to have at school for
so many reasons....
I totally recommend OONTZ for all college bound kids..
Great, affordable perfect size I can't say enough about it.

-- asklianne



Perfect for the time

Yes, they require a signature on delivery. I was pleasantly surprised because the Oontz is apparently smaller than the promo image indicated. It is a smokey black fingerprint resistant device. Feels solid too. The controls are standard volume, ff, back etc. but unconventionally situated on the axis - a minor irritation. It paired to my samsung galaxy without asking for pin, and I was bumping to the music in seconds. I believe it came charged. The Oontz tends to move around slowly on uneven surfaces due to the bass, so be careful where it is placed. Great product for its size, price and timing. Looking forward for the 2-Oontz.

-- icehill



The OontZ Came in today's UPS shipment........ all I can say at this time is "WOW". I sold Advent speakers for years, played pong on an Advent TV prototype with Henry at his house, owned 3 different Cambridge systems and this baby blows me away. Well done my friends.

-- Mike Cobb



UPS driver just delivered my OontZ. Listening now... LOVE this thing!

-- Bob Davis

Amazing Sound for iPhone, iPad, Smartphones, Notebooks, and MacBooks.

Listen to Your Music, YouTube, Games & Movies in High Quality Anywhere You Are

Home | The OontZ Angle | The OontZ | The OontZ XL | Compare Them | Specs | Reviews | Testimonials | Troubleshooting | E-Club

Contact our Product Specialists